George Rotary Club honours community leaders
Three Georgians who are well known in educational and charitable circles were honoured for decades of dedicated service to the community by the George Rotary Club on Tuesday 29 May.
George's outgoing Rotary President, Simon Swan (left), honoured Myron Rabinowitz, Lorraine Verhagen and Di Dee with a Paul Harris Fellowship for outstanding contribution to the community. Photo: Pauline Lourens
The Rotary's highest meritorious award, the Paul Harris Fellowship, was awarded to Cansa Relay chairman Lorraine Verhagen, dedicated community worker Myron Rabinowitz and Di Dee, a teacher at York High who worked on many educational projects including the Interact Club.
During an informal sit-down dinner, outgoing president Simon Swan reminded his audience that the presentation of the Paul Harris Fellowship is the Rotary Foundation's way of expressing its appreciation for a substantial contribution made to humanitarian and educational programmes.
Certificates of appreciation were also handed to York High Principal Francois Moll, the Townhouse Restaurant and the George Golf Club. The fellowships and certificates of appreciation are bestowed on individuals, organisations and businesses that demonstrate the Rotary's motto, "Service above Self".